Longwood… “The Farm”… Chi… Joanie on the… Sigma Kappa…

I LOVE SOCIAL NETWORKING!!! I just spent a few minutes perusing my Facebook friends and found some folks that I haven’t seen (although I’ve certainly thought about them) in 25+ years!  I see them exactly as they were, I remember their voices, and I can’t begin to tell you how much the flood of memories is making me smile.  I remember all the fun we had and the trouble we got in (or almost got in).  With every new face I came across there was another flood of new pictures in my mind.  So I want to say “Thank you!” to all those who were part of my journey then and now (via flashback)!

It reminds me of a posting I read recently about the red thread.  I’ve included it at the end. Longwood was just a College then, not a University – hell, it was hardly co-ed.  I went to Longwood, by default, because my mother and I couldn’t agree on my options.  But my time there was, without a doubt, perhaps the greatest gift ever.  The women of Longwood taught me about life, friendships, love, facing challenges, fun, PRIDE, and oh the list goes on… I believe that the red thread took me there and for that I am forever thankful.  And to those who handled my thread at one time or another, thank you.  And if you ever need me, just let me know.  The thread holds fast.

“An invisible red thread connects those who are destined to meet,
regardless of time, place, or circumstance.
The thread may stretch or tangle,
but it will never break.”

3 thoughts on “Longwood… “The Farm”… Chi… Joanie on the… Sigma Kappa…

  1. Lauren Montgomery

    I just graduated from Longwood and am now in a grad program there. I really think they were the best years of my life. It has changed so much even in the 4 years I have been there. I can’t wait to see what it will be like 20 years from now!

    Reply
    1. helenvanpattersonpatton Post author

      Congratulations! I know that things have changed incredibly since my time there, but in my mind it will always be everything that I remember. It will be the same for you I expect. Savor every minute and own your world. The friends, lessons learned, and the memories will be with you forever. Good luck to you!

      Reply
  2. Walker

    I met a woman yesterday for a short coffee meeting which lasted for 2 effortless hours. As we left,she mentioned the thread that brought the two of us together and the notion of what was meant to be. I’ve never seen the red thread analogy but have experienced it many times.
    Thanks for sharing that and your memories of school.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

